Australian Game Developer Awards 2017 Winners

Excellence and innovation in Australian-made games were recognised and rewarded at the prestigious Australian Game Developer Awards 2017 (AGDAs), held in Melbourne last night as part of Melbourne International Games Week.

Victorian studio Opaque Space was the big winner, collecting the coveted ‘Studio of the Year’ award and co-winner of the ‘Game of the Year’ for Earthlight: Arcade.

Opaque Space shared ‘Game of the Year’ honours with Defiant Development for Hand of Fate 2. Tony Lane, EA Mobile’s VP General Manager was awarded the Adam Lancman Award – the industry’s highest recognition for an individual’s contribution.

Lisy Kane and Kim Allom were recognised as ‘Industry Champions’.

photo of Kim Allom and Lisy Kane

Kim Allom and Lisy Kane

AGDA organiser Liam Esler from the Australian Game Developers’ Association said, “This year’s awards showcased an extraordinary display of talent from Australian studios large and small, experienced and new, with winning games across PC, mobile and console. The Australian games industry is booming now. It’s a very exciting time to be an Australian games developer.”

This year, award categories other than ‘Studio of the Year’, ‘Game of the Year’, ‘Industry Champion’ and the ‘Adam Lancman Award’ were removed to enable the 34 judges to evaluate entries as a whole, rather than specific parts of the game.

The 2017 Australian Game Development Awards winners are:

  • Studio of the Year – Opaque Space
  • Game of the Year – Earthlight: Arcade – Opaque Space
  • Game of the Year – Hand of Fate 2 – Defiant Development
  • Adam Lancman Award – Tony Lay
  • Industry Champion – Lisy Kane
  • Industry Champion – Kim Allom
  • Hollow Knight – Team Cherry
  • Battlestar Galactica Deadlock™ – Black Lab Games
  • Paradigm – Jacob Janerka
  • Forts – EarthWork Games
  • Miss Fisher and the Deadly Maze – Tin Man Games
  • Ticket to Earth – Robot Circus
  • Hacknet: Labyrinths – Team Fractal Alligator